My first night in Albuquerque, Kshanti and her boyfriend Thomas picked me up and took me to their lovely adobe abode. We walked through a nearby park (forest?) in which the Rio Grande ran through. They say Albuquerque is not the prettiest city but to have that in your backyard–wow! We finished the evening with some yummy New Mexican food at a local joint (see upcoming food post for elaboration).

The next day I rented car and drove to Bandelier National Monument via the Jemez Mountain Trail. This drive took me though a variety of pueblos, reservations, Spanish and Indian ruins, the Coronado and Jemez State Monuments, Los Alamos, Santa Fe, and views of the Santa Fe National Forest. I passed breathtaking red rock mountains and spent half the day regretting not getting out of my car to spend a little time in them and snap a few photos. There is something about that rusty red earth that is so magical. Once I was closer to Bandelier I passed green valleys with horse ranches that were a beautiful stark contrast to the dry desert landscape.

I arrived at Bandelier and was greeted shortly after by a tarantula (the second I have met in my life). The park ranger told me that it’s mating season and this male was off to find himself a woman. This is the final hurrah for this old guy– he will pass away after this season whether he mates or not. If he finds his woman, well good for him! Except of course that he might make a lovely meal for her after they have mated (and by make I do not mean cook her a fine meal).

I hiked the forested Main Loop Trail and climbed the many ladders that led into the cavates (small human-carved alcoves). I was generally in close proximity to people but at times when I wasn’t I did have a small fear of encountering a black bear or a mountain lion (which reside in the park). Perhaps unlikely, but hey, you can’t be too careful.

That night I went tango dancing at Kelly’s Pub in Albuquerque. It was a nice scene with friendly folks and good dancers. I danced most of the night but unfortunately I was playing catch up with myself and stumbling over my own feet. Any bad dances I had that night I take responsibility for (although they they say it’s always the leaders’ fault).

Through a contact of a contact of a contact, I met Randi, who was nice enough to house me in her big beautiful home on the outskirts of Albuquerque.
The next morning I returned the car and took the commuter rail to Santa Fe. I checked in the Santa Fe International Hostel of which I had been going back and forth on as an option. It received many mixed reviews on the internet, many extremely negative, but I took a chance, hoping that it was merely that these folks weren’t accustomed to hostel life. My experience turned out being quite lovely and I would absolutely return again. There was a large kitchen completely stocked with food for the guests to eat. It was required of all guests to complete one small chore in the morning. I chose to take out the kitchen trash and enjoyed the spirit of cooperation. I only had to share the large bunk bed dorm room and private bathroom with one other female from Japan. For $18 I got a room and free food. Not bad at all, eh? I met some cool people and had some great conversations about life, travel, and dance.

After checking in I spent the day wandering around Santa Fe, feeling like a charmed person in a charmed place (see other post). Next time I return I will spend way more time getting to know this enchanted town.

Many folks of all ages and backgrounds struck up conversation with me in Santa Fe during my various transits. One guy, a hip-hop street poet from LA, told me if that if I come live in Santa Fe I will grow like I’ve never imagined. “In cities there is so much confusion. Out here, it’s only you and God.”

I’ll see you again, New Mexico. Ciao for now.